PDA

View Full Version : [xubuntu] brasero



mpennell
August 18th, 2009, 03:06 AM
Brasero won't open. At all. Nothing, no response. Thoughts?

rednano12
August 18th, 2009, 03:12 AM
Type the following into terminal and post the output:


brasero

HermanAB
August 18th, 2009, 03:14 AM
A GUI is good when it works, but when it doesn't, then you got to run the program from the command line to see the error messages.

mpennell
August 18th, 2009, 03:21 AM
I enter 'brasero' and get:

Segmentation fault



Also, i have tried deleting and then reinstalling brasero (through the GUI).

rednano12
August 18th, 2009, 03:29 AM
Try installing the newest version from getdeb.

mpennell
August 18th, 2009, 03:42 AM
I get an error message telling me that a newer version of Brasero is already installed.

AlexanderDGreat
August 18th, 2009, 03:58 AM
Just an off-topic, but does anyone really find Brasero working? It doesn't DO anything AT ALL in my laptop, HP DV2000 Series, it's a crappy program for me.

So I: apt-get install devede and apt-get install gnomebaker - learned from youtube videos.

rcayea
August 18th, 2009, 04:31 AM
Just an off-topic, but does anyone really find Brasero working? It doesn't DO anything AT ALL in my laptop, HP DV2000 Series, it's a crappy program for me.

So I: apt-get install devede and apt-get install gnomebaker - learned from youtube videos.


I prefer K3b. I think you will like it. Brasero has never worked for me.

Randy

zebbers
August 18th, 2009, 04:35 PM
I can sum up brasero in one word.COASTERS!! I second gnomebaker. Uninstall brasero. Install gnomebaker or k3b if you want. They are both way more stable and finished than brasero.

anung524
August 18th, 2009, 05:46 PM
is that so? i've been using brasero for quite a time..
but might be trying for K3b if that one is as good as what said here.

mpennell
August 18th, 2009, 07:02 PM
Thanks, folks! I've loaded up k3b. Haven't used it yet, but am confident it will work-- it opened up just fine.

Thanks!!!