PDA

View Full Version : Why the Wars

PlatinumPlus
February 1st, 2006, 10:51 AM
Going through many forums of different distros I come across a number of posts of the Windows vs Linux flavor. Of late it appears Linux distros are now at "war" against each other. Some may argue and say it's good for development but as a noob I think it only adds to confusion and mistrust:-k

alamba
February 1st, 2006, 10:54 AM
No wars - just competition. Each distro has its owns plus and minuses.Gives end users more options on what to use based on their needs.

Akshay

Deaf_Head
February 1st, 2006, 12:24 PM
I think we are all waiting for the linux messiah .. the all-in-one-answer to deliver the world from the tyranny that is windows and microsoft.

Oh, and I hate to be a conspiracy theorist .. but microsoft INSURGENTS!!!

(what's sad is it could be true, many larger companies engage in extremely aggressive marketing under false names and organizations through the internet. Trolling would be a new one, but I wouldn't put it past em ...)

PlatinumPlus
February 6th, 2006, 09:59 AM
No wars - just competition.
Akshay

Just a way of getting more users on their side :-k

Leo_01
February 6th, 2006, 10:58 AM
Actually having friendly fire once in a while is nice... :rolleyes:
Diff disto suit diff needs...
like DSL it suits home users with low end systems...
and Red hat suits biz users...

alamba
February 6th, 2006, 11:19 AM
Just a way of getting more users on their side :-k

Lol...could be!! Though I doubt every distro aims to convert win users to linux. :twisted:

A

raublekick
February 6th, 2006, 04:00 PM
Linux distros are like a bunch of siblings and cousins. They're gonna fight, but they're all one big family in the end.

chimera
February 6th, 2006, 04:02 PM
Becase of zionist occupied goverments, muslim extremists and...oh, you mean OS wars, not the real ones...

because of Linux zealots, why else;)

Brunellus
February 6th, 2006, 04:13 PM