PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Setting up another computer with wireless

hector24
August 17th, 2009, 09:32 AM
I know a kind person has explained all this elsewhere but I need to have it in Absolute Beginner language please:

I have Ubuntu on my desktop computer. This is wired to a router and I have internet connection.

Now I want to add my laptop to the wireless connection so I can use this anywhere in the house. I have put in all the details on the laptop. It's connected to the wireless OK but when I try to go online it says 'cannot find server'.

I added this laptop and had wireless connection when I had MS windows - it told you to put a memory stick in the main computer and transfer the information across (the laptop had to be re-built recently - by the IT manager at my work - so all the connections have been wiped). There's nothing like that in Ubuntu and I haven't the know how to proceed.

Can anyone help, please?

ZankerH
August 17th, 2009, 09:54 AM
You can probably configure the router from your desktop computer by opening an internet browser (ie Firefox) and typing "192.168.1.1" (without the quotes) into the address bar. The configuration, however, depends on the model of router you have.

3rdalbum
August 17th, 2009, 10:54 AM
If you can successfully ping this IP address from your laptop:

ping 66.102.11.99

Then you need to put the DNS addresses into your laptop's configuration. You should be able to obtain your ISP's DNS address from your ISP's website or from the router's configuration panel (the one that you open from your web browser). Find the DNS addresses and put it into Network Manager under the wireless connection (IPv4 settings tab).

mapes12
August 17th, 2009, 12:04 PM
I know a kind person has explained all this elsewhere but I need to have it in Absolute Beginner language please:

I have Ubuntu on my desktop computer. This is wired to a router and I have internet connection.