PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu loads into grub

thinhman
August 17th, 2009, 08:04 AM
Hi all I'm very new to Ubuntu; linux for that matter. I've installed Ubuntu from my windows OS and thus have no CD. Now it appears that my menu.lst has disappeared or something...everytime I turn on the laptop it goes into the grub commandline.

It shows me the
[Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported...etc.]

if I press esc, it shows me 8 things.

find /ubuntu/disks/boot/grub/menu.lst
find /ubuntu/install/boot/grub/menu.lst
find /menu.lst
find /boot/grub/menu.lst
find /grub/menu.lst
commandline
reboot
halt

Any help on this guys? I'd really appreciate it; thanks!

EDIT: I just tried searching for my stage1 file so I can reinstall grub and it says that the file does not exist. I don't know if this helps or not.

trilobite
August 17th, 2009, 09:27 AM
Hi all I'm very new to Ubuntu; linux for that matter. I've installed Ubuntu from my windows OS and thus have no CD. Now it appears that my menu.lst has disappeared or something...everytime I turn on the laptop it goes into the grub commandline.

It shows me the
[Minimal BASH-like line editing is supported...etc.]

if I press esc, it shows me 8 things.

find /ubuntu/disks/boot/grub/menu.lst
find /ubuntu/install/boot/grub/menu.lst
find /menu.lst find /boot/grub/menu.lst
find /grub/menu.lst
commandline
reboot
halt

Any help on this guys? I'd really appreciate it; thanks!

EDIT: I just tried searching for my stage1 file so I can reinstall grub and it says that the file does not exist. I don't know if this helps or not.

Hi thinhman -

Hmm, doesn't sound like you've been having much fun... :) It's always much easier to install Linux using a CD (rather than from Windows), but let's see what we can do.

From the above options, select commandline. That should take you to a command-prompt that will look like either a "$" or a "#".