PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Learned something I didn't know!

lazyart
August 17th, 2009, 02:00 AM
So I've been running Ubuntu for about three years now. Don't use Windows much-- don't need it other than for a couple apps, and I usually fire up a virtual machine for that.

However today I found out something neat about the program bar. You know, where you have buttons for each window you have open (in a default installation, it's on the bottom of the screen). When I would restart my machine, I would always open Thunderbird first so that it would be in the leftmost position on the bar. I like it there... I know where to find it when I need to switch to it.

Well, I just found out that you can drag the items on that bar into any order you want.

Simple, but pretty cool. :)

Anyone else have neat things they stumbled on accidentally?

coldReactive
August 17th, 2009, 02:03 AM
Nice find, though I wouldn't use it personally.

JC Cheloven
August 17th, 2009, 02:38 AM
The greatest finding since the tab-for-completion in terminal :-D

nhasian
August 17th, 2009, 03:09 AM
Well, I just found out that you can drag the items on that bar into any order you want.
Anyone else have neat things they stumbled on accidentally?

yep its like common sense isnt it? man it really aggravates me when windows are out of order at the bottom toolbar. you know you can do that with firefox tabs as well right? you can even move a tab to becomes its own window, or bring in an entire firefox window into a tab on another firefox browser screen. (firefox 3.5)

tab for autocomplete works for both programs, as well as filenames. it even works for stuff in the repository! like if you were to type "apt-get install firef[tab]" it would list all applications that start with firef*

Shift-Insert to paste in a terminal. i use it all the time to copy/paste commands into a terminal.

OooBuntuRox
August 17th, 2009, 03:10 AM