PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] 9.04 freezes during boot

SigMtnDawg
August 13th, 2009, 01:35 AM
This got zero response under general help, so I'll try the noobie area. After all, some may call this a noobie question.

9.04 freezes during boot
I'm a bit of a noob, so please forgive any noobieness to this post. However, I did search quite a bit before starting a new post.

Here's my problem. Occasionally (so not every time), Ubuntu freezes during boot. In order to get it moving again, I can push 'Enter' or one of the arrow buttons. Unfortunately, I have to do this many times or it just sits there. Also, I can't just hit one of those buttons each time if freezes, because it doesn't always work. In other words, I sometimes have to wait a few seconds and hit the buttons again.

Before this started, I had a nice startup time of about 65-70 seconds. Now, it may take 2-3 minutes. Speed is not my biggest concern here, but I would like to have my zippy machine back on a consistent basis. My biggest concern is some possibly bigger looming problem with who knows what, but I have run diagnostics on the hardware, and nothing appears to be wrong.

Thanks in advance for the help.

zeroseven0183
August 13th, 2009, 01:39 AM
Hi! It would be helpful also if you could post the hardware specs of your computer.

In your System Monitor (System > Administration), what process takes up a lot of CPU usage?

SigMtnDawg
August 13th, 2009, 03:41 AM
OK, system is an HP with AMD Turion & 3 GB of ram & 150 GB hard drive. The Ubuntu version is 9.04, Kernel Linux 2.6.28-14-generic, GNOME 2.26.1.