PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do I put a link, for a new program, in Apps menu?

Dnyce2k6
August 12th, 2009, 09:58 PM
I'm relatively new to Ubuntu. When I download a program, its usually a tar file so I just right click and select extract here. Fine, I understand that. But once its downloaded how do I make a spot for it in the applications menu?

For instance, I just recently installed Vuse, and now I have to open a folder on my desktop and select the Vuse link everytime I want to use it. This is kinda lame and I know there must be some way to put it in the Apps menu. I figured it would automatically be under Internet or Sound/Video but it isn't. Any suggestions?

terry_gardener
August 12th, 2009, 10:09 PM
right click applications, click edit menus, click new item

mbzn
August 12th, 2009, 10:13 PM
Rather install apps from Add/remove under Applications menu, if you cant find it there try searcing for the .deb files when you download.
This is not a answer to your question but a sollution to your problem. tarballs has a complicated way to install, so i'd suggest to do the above...

Hope it helps

Dnyce2k6
August 12th, 2009, 10:28 PM
Okay, I'll be sure to look for .deb files in the future, thanks. But in regards to Vuze, the install link at the web site only seems to offer a .tat.bz2 file. :confused:

fballem
August 12th, 2009, 10:34 PM
Okay, I'll be sure to look for .deb files in the future, thanks. But in regards to Vuze, the install link at the web site only seems to offer a .tat.bz2 file. :confused:

I might be missing something, but is there a reason that you would not install Vuze from the repositories?

The reason that I ask is that installing from the repositories is the easiest and safest way to install an application - and there is a version of vuze in the repository.