PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] unbuntu 8.04 not recognizing hard drive during set up.

Keebs
August 12th, 2009, 06:34 PM
I am new to Linux and unbuntu, and I am trying to have a dual boot of Windows XP & unbuntu.

I currently have Windows XP 64bit installed on my computer. Now I am trying to install Ubuntu 8.04 64bit. When installing, the partition screen shows nothing, and i am not allowed to create any new partitions. I do not think this should effect it at all, but is there any possibility I am having this problem because i have SATA HDD?(I do not believe this is the problem, since I did not have this problem when i installed XP) or that I currnetly have one partition, and have free space (not formatted) left for unbuntu ?

any help is appreciated.

zerhacke
August 12th, 2009, 06:55 PM
Did you have to install drivers to get WinXP to see the drive? If no drive is showing it means Ubuntu didn't detect the SATA controller. Without that it won't see any of your discs.

Consider that you said it didn't find any hard drives to show the partition layout with setup, this is my best guess. Try to find a better supported SATA controller.

(Really strange, though, as Linux knows just about every SATA controller out there.)

Keebs
August 12th, 2009, 07:09 PM
I did just try to install another distro to see what would happen (linux mint, which I downloaded but choose unbuntu over mint) and it had the same problem, which I figure means it is not the software, but the computer. so should I look for SATA drivers? or try connection to a different SATA slot? or something else?

Keebs
August 12th, 2009, 07:58 PM
In the thread linked below, they had the same problem, and the guy who figured out the problem said it was in the BIOS, unfortunately he did not tell what he did to fix the problem and i have limited experience/knowledge of BIOS, so i was wondering if anyone knew anything about it.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=765711

thanks.

LowSky