PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Wireless pauses but does not show on Network Manager



glantela
August 9th, 2009, 03:35 AM
Hi Everyone,

I'm using a Dell Studio laptop with broadcom 4322 wireless controller. I get this weird pause every 5-10 minutes that lasts about 30 seconds. It doesnt show any drop in connection on the network manager though.

It seems to happen more often when i am watching a video on youtube and such. I was looking at this post: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1146367
which is similar but not quite the same. I tried installing Wicd and i couldnt connect at all, same deal with the backports.

Anyone else having this problem? Its quite annoying...

Thanks

glantela
August 14th, 2009, 03:00 AM
Can anyone help me on this?

glantela
August 14th, 2009, 03:13 AM
iwconfig:

lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

eth1 IEEE 802.11 Nickname:""
Access Point: Not-Associated
Link Quality:5 Signal level:213 Noise level:160
Rx invalid nwid:0 invalid crypt:367 invalid misc:0

pan0 no wireless extensions.

is it something to do with "not associated"?


Network:

04:00.0 Network controller: Broadcom Corporation BCM4322 802.11a/b/g/n Wireless LAN Controller (rev 01)
08:00.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Corporation NetLink BCM5784M Gigabit Ethernet PCIe (rev 10)

Router:

D-Link DIR-665

superprash2003
August 14th, 2009, 07:07 PM
well that output means that your not connected to any network.. is this when the wifi doesnt work?? if so , please post same output when your wifi works.. also post output of ifconfig

glantela
August 15th, 2009, 12:32 AM
Nah, that's what it says when i am connected... Although i have been changing some settings on the router and it seems to be working better. I changed it to select a channel automatically, instead of having it on channel 6 only... seems a little odd though, as it still says not associated.

glantela
August 15th, 2009, 12:48 AM
It's happening again, so looks like that wasnt the fix. Arg!

glantela
August 15th, 2009, 01:02 AM
When i ping the router, this is what happens at the pauses....

64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=134 ttl=64 time=6.31 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=165 ttl=64 time=5003 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=166 ttl=64 time=3995 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=167 ttl=64 time=2987 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=168 ttl=64 time=1979 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=169 ttl=64 time=971 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=170 ttl=64 time=0.611 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=171 ttl=64 time=0.919 ms
64 bytes from 192.168.0.1: icmp_seq=172 ttl=64 time=5.77 ms

glantela
August 19th, 2009, 04:59 AM
I just realized you asked for ifconfig, here it is:

eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:22:19:f1:a7:b0
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)
Interrupt:17

eth1 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:24:2c:5b:1e:0c
inet addr:192.168.0.197 Bcast:192.168.0.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::224:2cff:fe5b:1e0c/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:19 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:418
TX packets:28 errors:6 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:2646 (2.6 KB) TX bytes:5110 (5.1 KB)
Interrupt:17

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:4 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:240 (240.0 B) TX bytes:240 (240.0 B)

DodgeV83
August 19th, 2009, 07:30 AM
I've had the same problems ever since I got my Dell m1330. Every new release I install the latest Ubuntu and still experienced the same issues (drop outs for 30 seconds every once in a while).

Unfortunately, I have tried many solutions to no avail. I don't want to go back to Windows again...for the 4th time...but I rely on my internet connection, so no choice.

DodgeV83
August 19th, 2009, 02:50 PM
Router:

D-Link DIR-665

I see you're using a D-Link router. I believe this is the culprit as I am using the D-Link Systems DGL-4500, which is the "gaming" version of yours.

This, coupled with the fact that I have 0 networking problems while on the wireless network at work, indicates an issue with the router...

But what?!

Edit: I also experience the same problem, though with less frequency, while connected to the router via Ethernet.

glantela
August 21st, 2009, 03:53 AM
i've never actually plugged my laptop into the router, I'll give it a go and see what happens...

Edit: Ethernet works fine!

DodgeV83
August 21st, 2009, 08:34 AM
i've never actually plugged my laptop into the router, I'll give it a go and see what happens...

Edit: Ethernet works fine!

In the past I tried using KDE to solve this problem, didn't work. This time I thought I'd try something different.

Installing WICD and removing the gnome network management worked for me! I haven't had a single drop out all day yesterday or all day today at least :)

Note: In the "external programs" tab in WICD, I had to change dhcp to "dhclient" in order to fix an issue where suspend mode would prevent me from connecting again.

Give it a try!

apt-get install wicd

dimsim
August 31st, 2009, 02:02 AM
Hi Everyone,

I'm using a Dell Studio laptop with broadcom 4322 wireless controller. I get this weird pause every 5-10 minutes that lasts about 30 seconds. It doesnt show any drop in connection on the network manager though.

It seems to happen more often when i am watching a video on youtube and such. I was looking at this post: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1146367
which is similar but not quite the same. I tried installing Wicd and i couldnt connect at all, same deal with the backports.

Anyone else having this problem? Its quite annoying...

Thanks

This may be of interest to you, I had a similar problem with the 4322G in an HP Mini Note 2140 also under XP. This card would not maintain a reliable connection on any channel initially until updating to the latest HP supplied driver, even then it would drop off randomly and give wild ping times and poor throughput. Changing to another channel (I used 11) on both of my AP's (WRT54GS DD-WRT and Procurve AP530) made a huge difference but I still had the wild ping times and poor throughout so I sent the unit back as in the real world we dont have the luxury of being able to change other ppls AP channel!

Following the return of the first netbook I took a chance and got the new HP 5101 which had the 4333AG (i have no idea what the differences are between the two cards). Unfortunately the broadcom card still has some issues but thankfully they are only related to throughput and not connection stability. The throughput using channel 6 was around 1.25MB/sec which doubled to around 2.5MB/sec when using channel 11. I'll keep this one as throughput it not a major consideration for me with this machine and hope that the issues with these cards are discovered and fixed in due course.

So I'm interested in your findings, IMHO this must be an issue with the broadcom 4322 WLAN card and channel 6 (which seems weird) as throughout and connection stabilty appear to be issues regardless of which OS or AP type or which chipset the AP uses.

Hope this helps.