PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Installing aMSN using Terminal?

StrychnineTwitch
August 8th, 2009, 05:34 PM
I'm actually really new to Ubuntu, and literally I know nothing about it.
I have tried using Pidgin messenger and I didn't like it, so I wanted to go to aMsn, and on another thread I saw something about using Terminal and writing in the code: [ sudo apt-get install amsn]
So I did so, and now it is asking
[sudo] password for ____:

I tried typing in my password for login, but it wont allow me to type anything.
Can anyone help me on this?
Please use the simplest talk you can, as I completely suck at understanding anything more :P
Thank you so much! :)

halitech
August 8th, 2009, 05:36 PM
it won't show you typing anything, just type it in and hit enter. Its a security feature to prevent people from seeing how many characters you typed in and guessing your password

pedro3005
August 8th, 2009, 05:39 PM
Oh, and remember to type the administrator (root) password, not your user one.

StrychnineTwitch
August 8th, 2009, 05:40 PM
Alright, thanks so much :)
I cant wait to learn more about Ubuntu so I dont have to ask questions like this anymore, hahaha.

harry2006
August 8th, 2009, 05:42 PM
i guess sudo requires your user password and not the root password, that defeats the basic purpose of having sudo in the first place!

halitech
August 8th, 2009, 05:42 PM
Oh, and remember to type the administrator (root) password, not your user one.

what are you talking about? there is no root password, they would user their login password as long as they are the first user created which has sudo rights.

StrychnineTwitch
August 8th, 2009, 05:46 PM
what are you talking about? there is no root password, they would user their login password as long as they are the first user created which has sudo rights.

I'm actually not the first user created. My dad had to set everything up for me first, and hasn't given my account administrative privileges yet.