PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] Bouncing a FLASHy idea around

sha.goyjo
August 3rd, 2009, 08:25 PM
I'm just bouncing an idea around, but is there any way we could code a wrapper, similar to ndiswrapper, but for ppc systems? Or does one already exist?

I'm wondering because I've been installing Ubuntu on more and more ppc systems of late, and their inability to play flash is frustrating a lot of people.

And yes, I know about gnash and swfdec, but gnash fails on a lot of pages, and swfdec uses up way too much processor (it's a known bug, where it uses one full processor core).

Does anybody have any input?

sha.goyjo
August 6th, 2009, 03:14 AM
bump....nobody interested in the ppc flash problem?

MikeTheC
August 6th, 2009, 04:00 AM
I don't think anything like NDISwrapper exists for Mac OS X software. As I'm not a coder, I've no idea what would be involved in getting such a thing to exist. However, my gut tells me it would be very non-trivial to do it. But I guess *in theory* you could take Adobe's PPC Flash Player for Mac OS X, wrap it, and use it in Linux.

However, even if such a thing existed, and even if you didn't take any performance hit in running it that way, and even if the one-legged man was standing in just the right position, the fact of the matter is G3 and G4 hardware is extremely sub-optimal for displaying Flash content, pretty much without regard to clock speed. I used to have a 1.67GHz G4 PowerBook (which is the fastest clock speed Apple ever had for a G4 in any system they made) and Flash *still* sucked on it.

So could it be done in theory? Probably. Is there a point? No, not really.

sha.goyjo
August 6th, 2009, 11:28 PM
lol...please realize, this is for my fiancee's computer.... :-)

rjcalifornia
August 7th, 2009, 04:29 AM
hmmm... This is impossible. The G3 Processor is way to slow to display flash content properly....

However, I am able to watch FLV videos....

gwydionwaters
September 25th, 2009, 04:00 AM