PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] 400w power supply in Dell Dimension 4700C?



supdewds
August 3rd, 2009, 06:19 PM
I am trying to turn this Dell Dimension 4700C into a media box, and the video card I am looking to buy for it says it requires a 300w minimum output. The onboard power supply has a 160w max output, and I have a 400w power supply lying around that I *could* put in the 4700C. My question is: is this a good idea?

Here is the video card: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814121292

And here is a .pdf of the owner's manual for the 4700C: http://support.dell.com/support/edocs/systems/dim4700c/en/OM/en/N56841LRs.pdf

Alternatively, another video card with 1Gb onboard memory (instead of the 512MB of the other one) has no warning about minimum power source wattage. Why? Should I just buy the 1Gb one and not put in the new power supply?

GoldenSun
August 3rd, 2009, 06:33 PM
the 400w generic psu should be fine with the 9400gt.

jerrrys
August 3rd, 2009, 06:50 PM
think you misread. thats 300w for system, not video card. bottom of page...

http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=321&Itemid=72&limit=1&limitstart=12

supdewds
August 3rd, 2009, 07:50 PM
think you misread. thats 300w for system, not video card. bottom of page...

http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=321&Itemid=72&limit=1&limitstart=12

I'm not sure I follow you. If the system needs 300w minimum, and I only have a 160w max power supply, wouldn't that mean I should put in the 400w power supply? I see the thing at the bottom of the page that says "the ASUS EN9400GT drew only 13 watts of power while drawing 33 watts at full load" but if that's true, then what is the 300w stuff about on the newegg spec page?

PatrickVogeli
August 3rd, 2009, 10:01 PM
Just try it, worst that will happen is the compunter not powering up or shutting down on high load.

GoldenSun
August 3rd, 2009, 10:28 PM
Just try it, worst that will happen is the compunter not powering up or shutting down on high load.

I have had bad experience with "just trying it".
I've had a 300w psu blow once my 6600gt was at max load.

I would put the 400w in there.

supdewds
August 4th, 2009, 12:09 AM
Just try it, worst that will happen is the compunter not powering up or shutting down on high load.

Unfortunately I don't have 50 dollars to waste if "just trying it" doesn't work.