PDA

View Full Version : [other] Hamachi Install (for a NOOB!)

NiGHtsBeta09
August 3rd, 2009, 05:39 AM
Hello. I'm brand new to Ubuntu. I'm a Windows-experienced person. Can anyone tell me how to install Hamachi on Ubuntu, please? I've tried the guides, but I always get stuck at one point or another. My Firefox isn't working on my XP, and I don't want to have to switch OSs for internet surfing and Hamachi/GoogleTalk! It gets annoying.

Any help will be greatly appreciated! Thanks! ^^

Bradtek
August 3rd, 2009, 06:43 AM
Have you at least read the README file inside the
hamachi-0.9.9.9-20-lnx.tar.gz ?

NiGHtsBeta09
August 6th, 2009, 11:18 PM
Yes, but as I stated, I am completely new to the works of Ubuntu. I have no idea what to do. I tried the "make install" as it said, but it gave an error, so I think I'm going wrong. ON THE FIRST STEP! ><

I really need help.... T^T

pedro3005
August 6th, 2009, 11:55 PM
First you open up the terminal, then you run 'cd nameofdirectory', nameofdirectory being the directory where hamachi was extracted. Then './configure', when it is done 'make' and finally 'make install'. That is the standard compiling procedure and should work :)

justrivers
August 12th, 2009, 03:11 AM
I'm having issues with Hamachi as well. The Make File and the tuncfg work fine but whenever I run 'hamachi-init' the terminal prompt immediately follows up with 'killed' so I cannot start the process. I've tried running it as stated above and as 'sudo hamachi-init', both respond killed.

System log shows this:
Pid: 3530, comm: hamachi-init Tainted: G

I can provide the full log detail if needed.

help...

3rdalbum
August 12th, 2009, 03:30 AM
Yes, but as I stated, I am completely new to the works of Ubuntu. I have no idea what to do. I tried the "make install" as it said, but it gave an error, so I think I'm going wrong. ON THE FIRST STEP! ><

I really need help.... T^T

What error message does it give? Do you have the build-essential package installed?