PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Monitor no signal

FadedReality
August 2nd, 2009, 09:25 PM
I have a Dell Optiplex 720L with an Intel Pentium 4 3.00Ghz with 1 gig of ram and a 152 gig hard drive. Using the integrated motherboard video card. I installed Ubuntu 9.04 through Windows as an application. When I restart the computer and select Ubuntu it loads a splash screen with a skinny loading bar. Once the loading bar is full the screen goes blue on my monitor and a message saying no signal appears. I am a complete beginner to Ubuntu so if anyone can give me an easy to understand work around for this I would be very grateful. :)

doas777
August 2nd, 2009, 09:34 PM
I have one box that does something like that. I have to either unplug the monitors power for a minute, and then plug it back in, or remember to power the monitor off as the system is shutting down. then i don;t turn it back on until after i hear the sound for login.

I think it's that the monitor doens't quite like jaunty. I didn't have this problem with any previous distro. it'll prolly be gone in karmic (but somthing else inexplicable will occure).

hopefully that addresses your issue. good luck.

Sealbhach
August 2nd, 2009, 09:35 PM
I have a Dell Optiplex 720L with an Intel Pentium 4 3.00Ghz with 1 gig of ram and a 152 gig hard drive. Using the integrated motherboard video card. I installed Ubuntu 9.04 through Windows as an application. When I restart the computer and select Ubuntu it loads a splash screen with a skinny loading bar. Once the loading bar is full the screen goes blue on my monitor and a message saying no signal appears. I am a complete beginner to Ubuntu so if anyone can give me an easy to understand work around for this I would be very grateful. :)

OK, try this. Once the blue screen appears hit Ctrl+Alt+F1 or Ctrl+Alt+F2 (doesn't matter which).

Login with username and password.

Type this command in:

sudo dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg