PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cpu frequency scaling with AMD Athlon(tm) Processor L110 ?



diffy
August 2nd, 2009, 04:18 PM
Hi,

I tried to enable the frequency scaling on my laptop with this AMD processor, but I didn't found anything on the web now which work for my distribution/ processor.


processor : 0
vendor_id : AuthenticAMD
cpu family : 15
model : 124
model name : AMD Athlon(tm) Processor L110
stepping : 2
cpu MHz : 1197.081
cache size : 512 KB
fpu : yes
fpu_exception : yes
cpuid level : 1
wp : yes
flags : fpu vme de pse tsc msr pae mce cx8 apic sep mtrr pge mca cmov pat pse36 clflush mmx fxsr sse sse2 syscall nx mmxext fxsr_opt rdtscp lm 3dnowext 3dnow up rep_good pni cx16 lahf_lm svm extapic cr8_legacy 3dnowprefetch
bogomips : 2394.16
TLB size : 1024 4K pages
clflush size : 64
cache_alignment : 64
address sizes : 40 bits physical, 48 bits virtual
power management: ts fid vid ttp tm stc 100mhzsteps


Linux 2.6.28-14-generic #47-Ubuntu SMP Sat Jul 25 01:19:55 UTC 2009 x86_64 GNU/Linux
I tried to follow that thread (http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=248867) but I can't load any mentioned modules, I only have the errors like


sudo modprobe powernow-k8
FATAL: Module powernow_k8 not found.
does anybody have some clues for me ?

Thanks
David

priegog
October 27th, 2009, 12:11 AM
I am very interested in this too. I wouldn't normally care about something like scaling, but seeing that this processor is intended for netbook-like (depending on your definition of netbook) laptops, this becomes a REALLY big issue. I need to know in a reasonable amount of time (a little more than a week) because if there doesn't seem to be a solution in the horizon I might be taking it back to the store. It never ocurred to me that I would have to keep an eye out for processor compatibility on linux. video card, wireless card, onboard camera and sound card sure, but processor? never.
Anyways, thanks

lordofwinds
October 29th, 2009, 01:50 PM
Yeah, it's really trouble.
I hope this promlem can be resolved soon.