PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Firefox 3.5.1

motorcity909
August 2nd, 2009, 02:45 PM
Hi all, I'm new to Ubuntu but am finding my way around it okay. I've moved away from WinXP following a virus and a failed reinstall.

However, one thing I am struggling with is updating Firefox from version 3.0.12 that was included to version 3.5.1 that is out now and I use on my Windows machines. I used the Package Manager to install it and it even created a new folder called 'firefox 3.5.1' but once I open FF, it still shows as 3.0.12 in About.

Don't worry, this isn't going to make me leave Ubuntu, but an FF upgrade does seem easier on Windows. Please help!

llamabr
August 2nd, 2009, 02:49 PM
http://ubuntumanual.org/posts/197/install-firefox-3-5-1-in-ubuntu-using-ubuntuzilla

This one is a bit tricky, but I wouldn't go calling windows package manager easier.

The way that have it now, 3.5.1 can exist beside your current one, so you can have both. can windows do that?

anyway, run the python script, and it'll change your defaults.

oldsoundguy
August 2nd, 2009, 02:58 PM
You will find that the builds either will not add the newest Firefox or other Mozilla products OR will be way behind before they hit the repositories.

Use the Ubuntuzilla python script to enable the install of the new version of anything Mozilla WHEN it appears on the Source Forge site.

Here is an explanation and links:
http://tombuntu.com/index.php/2009/07/15/install-firefox-35-in-ubuntu-904-using-ubuntuzilla/

joriad
August 2nd, 2009, 03:27 PM
You can get specific instructions here (http://ubuntumanual.org/posts/193/installing-firefox-3-5-in-ubuntu-the-easy-way)

This is the same thing as llamabr has suggested and it works relatively simple. Just follow the instructions and restart your system and you're in business.

joriad
August 2nd, 2009, 03:32 PM
Also glad to see more people pulling away from the Microsoft Machine and converting to Linux. Welcome aboard.

SunnyRabbiera
August 2nd, 2009, 03:53 PM