PDA

View Full Version : Re: Setting up the Cube and Atlantic



lyfenda
August 1st, 2009, 11:04 PM
can som1 tell me how to get 3d cube and atlantic working on ubuntu linux

themusicalduck
August 1st, 2009, 11:12 PM
First install simple-ccsm by typing this into a terminal
sudo apt-get install simple-ccsm

Then install atlantis (I guess you mean that by atlantic) with
sudo apt-get install compiz-fusion-plugins-unsupported

Once they have installed, go to System > Preferences > CompizConfig settings manager. This will bring up a control panel to enable and configure compiz features. You should be able to check Desktop Cube (Rotate Cube might also be useful) and Cube Atlantis from here.

It's worthwhile looking through the Desktop Cube and Rotate Cube settings or of anything else by clicking on the icons to customise them how you like.


sudo apt-get install compiz-plugins will also give you a few extra useful addons if it isn't installed already.

misswham
August 1st, 2009, 11:14 PM
Here is a visual tutorial on how to use the cube.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LGY9cwSjZsU

misswham
August 2nd, 2009, 03:36 PM
I tried the sudo command for unsupported and it says the following. Why does it say couldnt be found?

aretha@aretha-desktop:~$ sudo apt-get install simple-ccsm
[sudo] password for aretha:
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
simple-ccsm is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
aretha@aretha-desktop:~$ sudo apt-get install compiz-fusion-plugins-unsupported
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
E: Couldn't find package compiz-fusion-plugins-unsupported
aretha@aretha-desktop:~$ sudo apt-get install compiz-plugins
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
compiz-plugins is already the newest version.
0 upgraded, 0 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
aretha@aretha-desktop:~$

tommah04
August 2nd, 2009, 03:42 PM
you already have both installed, just try looking for it in System

misswham
August 2nd, 2009, 04:29 PM
I was actually looking at a tutorial video and with these commands the effect of snow was added to the extras in compiz. it just never showed up.