View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cannot return from Standby mode...

July 26th, 2009, 06:37 PM

I'm a complete newb to Ubuntu. I installed yesterday and know next to nothing about Linux. I really like everything so far, and I'm working out the kinks one by one. My next conquest is to fix this problem with Standby.

I'm using an HP Inspiron laptop with an Nvidia graphics card. I've installed all the drivers for it and everything. Whenever I go into Standby, however, I cannot come back. The screen remains black. I've seen a few other threads pertaining to this, but the proposed solutions don't seem definitive, and in any case I wouldn't be able to implement them if I tried because I'm just a beginner with Linux.

Could someone please give me a step by step on how to fix this problem? You wouldn't only be helping me, but all the other newbs as well. Thanks a million.

July 27th, 2009, 03:26 AM

July 27th, 2009, 04:38 AM
You might have a look here: http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1036051 There have been a lot of HP's affected by this.

July 28th, 2009, 02:39 AM
Thanks. I'll try to find something in all that that makes sense. I must admit, it looks like Greek to me. I don't know what a dsdt file is.

July 28th, 2009, 02:59 AM
It's not hard. The DSDT file is hard coded into your BIOS and contains instructions for the operating system on how to interact with your hardware. You can just copy and paste the commands in a terminal.

sudo apt-get install iasl
sudo cat /proc/acpi/dsdt > dsdt.dat