PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] No internet connection 9.04 after router change



Netspeed
July 23rd, 2009, 07:27 PM
I didn't want to steal the other thread, I read the recommendations, and here's the results: ALSO...I turned the router security off and it didn't make a difference.
iwlist scan

$ sudo iwlist scanning
lo Interface doesn't support scanning.

eth0 Interface doesn't support scanning.

wmaster0 Interface doesn't support scanning.

wlan0 Scan completed :
Cell 01 - Address: 00:18:F8:D0:42:3B
ESSID:"linksys"
Mode:Master
Channel:1
Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
Quality=53/100 Signal level:-74 dBm Noise level=-67 dBm
Encryption key:on
IE: Unknown: 00076C696E6B737973
IE: Unknown: 010482848B96
IE: Unknown: 030101
IE: Unknown: 2A0100
IE: Unknown: 32088C129824B048606C
IE: WPA Version 1
Group Cipher : TKIP
Pairwise Ciphers (1) : TKIP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
IE: Unknown: DD180050F202010100000364000027A4000041435E0061322F 00
IE: Unknown: DD9F0050F204104A000110103B00010310470010746F4EDA81 553E03B835B6520511DF251044000102102100074C696E6B73 7973102300204C696E6B73797320576972656C6573732D4E20 47616D696E6720526F75746572102400075752543333304E10 4200046E6F6E651054000800060050F2040001101100204C69 6E6B73797320576972656C6573732D4E2047616D696E672052 6F75746572100800020004
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
Extra:tsf=0000002489ff7180
Extra: Last beacon: 1268ms ago
Cell 02 - Address: 00:22:3F:9E:C5:D0
ESSID:"TOwireless"
Mode:Master
Channel:1
Frequency:2.412 GHz (Channel 1)
Quality=93/100 Signal level:-37 dBm Noise level=-67 dBm
Encryption key:on
IE: Unknown: 000A544F776972656C657373
IE: Unknown: 010882848B0C12961824
IE: Unknown: 030101
IE: Unknown: 0706555320010B1B
IE: Unknown: 200100
IE: IEEE 802.11i/WPA2 Version 1
Group Cipher : CCMP
Pairwise Ciphers (1) : CCMP
Authentication Suites (1) : PSK
IE: Unknown: 2A0100
IE: Unknown: 32043048606C
IE: Unknown: DD180050F2020101020003A4000027A4000042435E0062322F 00
IE: Unknown: DD1E00904C334E101BFFFF0000000000000000000000000000 00000000000000
IE: Unknown: 2D1A4E101BFFFF000000000000000000000000000000000000 000000
IE: Unknown: DD1A00904C3401051900000000000000000000000000000000 000000
IE: Unknown: 3D1601051900000000000000000000000000000000000000
IE: Unknown: DD0900037F01010000FF7F
IE: Unknown: DD0A00037F04010000000000
IE: Unknown: DD820050F204104A0001101044000102105700010010410001 00103B00010310470010565AA94967C14C0EAA8FF349E6F593 111021000D4E6574676561722C20496E632E10230007574E52 3230303010240007574E523230303010420004353637381054 000800060050F204000110110007574E523230303010080002 0084103C000103
Bit Rates:1 Mb/s; 2 Mb/s; 5.5 Mb/s; 11 Mb/s; 6 Mb/s
9 Mb/s; 12 Mb/s; 18 Mb/s; 24 Mb/s; 36 Mb/s
48 Mb/s; 54 Mb/s
Extra:tsf=00000000fa9c4180
Extra: Last beacon: 1108ms ago

pan0 Interface doesn't support scanning.


ifconfig

$ ifconfig
eth0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0b:cd:a8:6e:05
inet addr:192.168.1.2 Bcast:192.168.1.255 Mask:255.255.255.0
inet6 addr: fe80::20b:cdff:fea8:6e05/64 Scope:Link
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:26949 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:18060 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:33423277 (33.4 MB) TX bytes:1937177 (1.9 MB)
Interrupt:10

lo Link encap:Local Loopback
inet addr:127.0.0.1 Mask:255.0.0.0
inet6 addr: ::1/128 Scope:Host
UP LOOPBACK RUNNING MTU:16436 Metric:1
RX packets:844 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:844 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:0
RX bytes:63304 (63.3 KB) TX bytes:63304 (63.3 KB)

wlan0 Link encap:Ethernet HWaddr 00:0b:cd:75:cd:75
UP BROADCAST MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)

wmaster0 Link encap:UNSPEC HWaddr 00-0B-CD-75-CD-75-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00-00
UP BROADCAST RUNNING MULTICAST MTU:1500 Metric:1
RX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 frame:0
TX packets:0 errors:0 dropped:0 overruns:0 carrier:0
collisions:0 txqueuelen:1000
RX bytes:0 (0.0 B) TX bytes:0 (0.0 B)


iwconfig

$ iwconfig
lo no wireless extensions.

eth0 no wireless extensions.

wmaster0 no wireless extensions.

wlan0 IEEE 802.11bg ESSID:""
Mode:Managed Frequency:2.412 GHz Access Point: Not-Associated
Tx-Power=20 dBm
Retry min limit:7 RTS thr:off Fragment thr=2352 B
Power Management:off
Link Quality:0 Signal level:0 Noise level:0
Rx invalid nwid:0 Rx invalid crypt:0 Rx invalid frag:0
Tx excessive retries:0 Invalid misc:0 Missed beacon:0

pan0 no wireless extensions.


Thanks for any and all help!

Adina
July 23rd, 2009, 09:07 PM
are you connected to eth0 with cable? I see you get ip address on eth0.
In my experience I could not connect to eth0 and wlan0 at the same time.
If you are connected with cable try to disconnect the cable and reboot your machine and try scan for wifi network again.

Bucky Ball
July 23rd, 2009, 09:12 PM
You need to match the ESSID and the WEP or WPA key in the router to what is in your machine. On the machine, presuming the router is serving you an IP address via DHCP:

System->Admin->Network

Unlock and click your wireless device then properties. Match the details, make sure 'Enable Roaming' is off and 'Configuration' is set to 'Automatic Configuration (DHCP)'


On the router configuration, make sure the DHCP server is on and the details for your wireless setup match the ones in your machine. You can also name the router (AP or access point).

Netspeed
July 23rd, 2009, 10:40 PM
It looks like everything you suggested is in correctly. Why does the iwlist scan show the router? It has the correct channel and everything.

cgb
July 23rd, 2009, 11:25 PM
Is this the only computer on the network? Do any other computers have internet connectivity? If there is no internet connectivity for any computer on the network it is possible that due to the Router swap out the DSL modem is still locked to the old Router. Some ISP's provide modem's that lock on to the mac address of the device connected and will not provide a connection to a new device unless the modem is rebooted. If this is the case a simple power down for about 1 minute of the modem and turn back on should do the trick. Also reboot the router after this to ensure everything is back in sync. Hope this helps.

Netspeed
July 24th, 2009, 02:21 AM
There are up to 3 other computers (wired) on the network. The netbook (Windows) can access the router and my laptop (Ubuntu) will when it's wired but not wirelessly.

superprash2003
July 24th, 2009, 09:10 AM
i presume your able to view the "linksys" network when you click on the network symbol on the top right bar?

Netspeed
July 24th, 2009, 03:00 PM
Fixed! Simple too....I powered down the router while leaving the computer up. Once the Netgear router came back up, the laptop found the network...WPA2 encryption and all.

Iowan
July 24th, 2009, 03:52 PM
Sometimes it's the simple things... Congrats!