PDA

View Full Version : [kubuntu] Cannot install Kubuntu

mytorciar
July 22nd, 2009, 05:29 AM
Hi,
I am a Linux noob. Over the years I have been trying to use Ubuntu on a dual boot with XP and after a while had to get rid of it.

Yesterday I tried the Live CD of Kububtu9.04 and liked it, so i decided to use Wubi to install Kubuntu inside windows xp. The installation went on smoothly till it asked for a reboot. On reboot the splash screen came up for some time, then a display of the cursor as a BIG X and a window showing that it was installing - the message inside the box was that it was trying to format the /host disk for making a swap file. This was endlessly shown, with the progress remaining at 0%. This went on for quite some time and I had to hard boot the machine.

Same thing went on the next time for many minutes and I gave up for i did not want to fiddle around and lose data.

System Info:

C:/ fat32 - where I was trying to install thru wubi - free space around 6 GB.
D:/ NTFS - where XP2 pro SP2 is installed.
E:/Fat32
I:/ntfs - Windows programs are installed.

Ram 1GB, HDD 160GB, DVD-ROM etc. Onboard video - no separate card. Monitor LCD AOC 617SW.

This is after when i had failed to install UBUNTU 9.04 thru Wubi. After install it would just give a blank screen. I read somewhere that KUBUNTU might be better because of KDE. I had searched for the solution but could not get it on the Net.

Do I give up on Ubuntu / Kubuntu or is there some way I can progress.

Thanks.
Mytor

perito
July 22nd, 2009, 07:15 AM
try installing it without wubi? Put the live CD and install Kubuntu?

Nburnes
July 22nd, 2009, 07:18 AM
Download the iso for Kubuntu, then put it in the same folder or on your desktop next to Wubi Installer, then run Wubi and it should install just fine.

Mine used to stay stuck at 0% also until I read the Wubi wiki and it said it was easier to do it this way.

Or if you have the Live CD with you just load it into Windows and run Wubi off of that.