PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Cannot connect through modem or wifi

webcrawler03
July 21st, 2009, 02:56 PM
Hello! I am very new to the Linux OS in general let alone Unbuntu. I installed it on my laptop (Acer Aspire 5100) several months ago and had problems getting on to the internet so i packed it away and have not touched it since. I believe i found the answer to my wireless problems with MadWiFi for my Atheros wireless card but the problem is i need to be connected to the internet to do it. I have internet on my desktop that im currenly using through my local cable company using a Motorola Surfboard SBV5220 cable modem. I have no problems accessing the internet with it through my Vista based desktop but when i plug the ethernet into my Acer it says something along the lines of aquiring address or something but then it disconnects. So i can not connect to the internet on ubuntu with my cable modem or my wireless card. If anyone can help me connect with my cable modem i can surely get the madwifi app working for my wirless card and that would be great. Better yet if anyone can tell me how to use madwifi without having an active internet connection then my problem would be solved easier. All im hoping for is to acheive some type of internet connection on Unbuntu based Acer. Thank you in advance for any help you provide me.

jbrown96
July 21st, 2009, 03:17 PM
One problem that I have had with connecting directly to cable modems is that they hard code the mac address. Your modem will only connect to an ethernet card with the mac address (unique address for each network card) of your desktop. Unplug your modem and wait about 30 seconds, then plug it back in. Once it starts up all the way, connect your Acer. You will need to do this again to be able to connect with your desktop.

Edit: The power to your cable modem needs to be disconnected, not the data.

webcrawler03
July 21st, 2009, 03:55 PM