PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] how to reconfigure graphics in jaunty



Arthur Millar
July 20th, 2009, 02:07 PM
i tried to change my screen resolution to test some work of mine
somthing went wrong so i ended up rebooting
trying to be clever i tried recovery xfix from grub menu
now jaunty wont boot x
i tried
root terminal
dpkg-reconfigure xserver-xorg
that just asked me for keyboard settings
how can i reset my graphics driver
i want to die my work is overdue already:(

PmDematagoda
July 20th, 2009, 02:09 PM
What graphics card are you using?

doomsword2001
July 20th, 2009, 02:20 PM
for what i say i am not totally sure so act at ur own risk :popcorn:

i guess changing resolution means editing /etc/X11/xorg.conf
if i am right when u edit that file, it creates a backup at dir /etc/X11/ something like xorg.conf.42342536574674

have you tried using live cd and replacing xorg.conf ?

Arthur Millar
July 20th, 2009, 02:23 PM
What graphics card are you using?

ati hd3870
i was using proprietry drivers

Arthur Millar
July 20th, 2009, 02:24 PM
for what i say i am not totally sure so act at ur own risk :popcorn:

i guess changing resolution means editing /etc/X11/xorg.conf
if i am right when u edit that file, it creates a backup at dir /etc/X11/ something like xorg.conf.42342536574674



have you tried using live cd and replacing xorg.conf ?



i will give it a try

Arthur Millar
July 20th, 2009, 02:50 PM
i will give it a try

no amount of xorg.conf configuring is having any affect
i have tried the failsafe file with no luck also

Arthur Millar
July 20th, 2009, 03:12 PM
well i guess this means another long night of updates and reinstalling
ubuntu u suck

automaton26
July 20th, 2009, 03:23 PM
If you're using proprietary drivers (Catalyst?) then I don't think xorg.conf is relevant any more.

With my ATI 4850, I can run the ATI Catalyst Control Center by doing:


DISPLAY=:0 amdcccle

gjoellee
July 20th, 2009, 03:25 PM
EDIT: Whoops...did not read your first post carefully enough :P

achase79
July 20th, 2009, 03:28 PM
have you set up xorg.conf for your video card using the "radeonhd" driver? You may have to redo this by hand or if it is just as easy to reinstall the propriatory radeon driver. This should return your diplay to before you tried to change the resolution.

Arthur Millar
July 21st, 2009, 07:39 PM
thanks for the posts
but i have set up my pc in such a way that only programs and updates are lost on a reinstall
it just seems that much easier than to post and wait and fiddle till all hours of the morning
my set up is as follows
ati hd3870
using FGLRX
my display tab in system>preferences takes a long time to load for some weird reason, and catalyst can not apply any changes
its all very delicate and as they say don't fix whats not broke
its just a bit of an issue when you are trying to test web pages by resolution