PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] General Ubuntu speed: slow and sluggish

jdenhaan
July 20th, 2009, 09:45 AM
Hi folks,

First of all, I'd like to make it absolutely clear I'm not trying to start a flame war here, but I've faced a problem that is so general of nature that I really don't know where to put it but here and how to put it like this.

I've been using Ubuntu on a number of laptops for the past two or three years now, and have alwasy been very happy with it. I mainly do a lot of web developing, and use my station for nothing more than browsing and e-mailing. For web design I use both WinXP in VirtualBox and for gaming I have a dual boot WinXP. Untill now, this situation has worked to my satisfaction.

A recent project forced me to do a lot of testing in IE8 (in my dual boot WinXP), and I came to realize how slow and sluggish Ubuntu feels to me. Working with the desktop, browsing in Firefox; it is all much faster in WinXP than in Ubuntu. Entering text into a textarea in Firefox is so slow it is nearly impossible to type a text more than a few lines (with delays of sometimes seconds between characters). But also just dragging windows around on the desktop... it runs just so much smoother on WinXP than on my laptop.

Now, I've been a big fan of Ubuntu for quite some years, so I know the Ubuntu team prides itself on presenting a faster and more useable OS. Unfortunately, due to reasons I cannot understand, my user experience has been dented.

There are a few things I've figured out about this. First of all, I have a Dell Latitude E5500 laptop that uses Intel Mobile graphics - I seem to remember Intel cards have always been a bit troublesome. I'm using some Compiz desktop effects, mainly because turning them off doesn't improve performance. Also, the slow textarea input in Firefox is something a lot of other people face, without a solution to be found.