PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu "crawls" over time like Windoze

Delawaredave
July 18th, 2009, 03:12 PM
I've been running Ubuntu for about 9 months.

Ran fast in beginning, now it crawls like Windoze used to.

I never installed any additional applications or added things.

Is this supposed to happen ? I did procedures outlined in below:
http://maketecheasier.com/8-ways-to-maintain-a-clean-lean-ubuntu-machine/2008/10/07/

What a bummer. Appreciate any thoughts.

NightwishFan
July 18th, 2009, 03:18 PM
Do you know what applications are lagging?

Edit: A lot of tips in that article seem fairly useless, and potentially dangerous.

Delawaredave
July 18th, 2009, 03:46 PM
Thanks for reply. I really just use the computer for web browsing - and firefox is much slower than when initially loaded.

Overall startup and shudown of machine is slower too.

And unrelated, the hibernate and doesn't work anymore with version updates.

All the hell of windoze that I tried to get away from I seem to now have with ubunut....

NightwishFan
July 18th, 2009, 03:53 PM
Personally I have never noticed any gradual slowdowns. (I am actually pretty observant for that sort of thing as well.)

As a good test, log in as the 'guest user' on the user switch panel applet or make a new user temporarily, and see if you notice slowdowns. If the other user is fast, then you might have some odd configuration bug that is causing problems.

Do you have sufficient RAM/CPU/GPU to run Ubuntu?

CPU: Anything, over 700mhz recommended.
RAM: 400+ is good
GPU: Nvidia 6 series and up seems to work well.

As for Firefox, make sure you have smooth scrolling disabled.

wyliecoyoteuk
July 18th, 2009, 04:19 PM
How much spare disk space do you have?
If the / partition gets full, it can all sorts of problems.

Certainly sound slike something is screwed, I have Linux systems that have been running for 5 years with no slowdown.