View Full Version : wineserver: could not save registry branch to system.reg : No space left on device

July 17th, 2009, 08:11 PM
OK, im new to ubuntu, this is my first real install. completely fresh on a 500gb sata drive, simply followed the prompts from the installation cd.

I have been attempting to install a fresh world of warcraft and have been relatively unsuccessful.

Installing wine was pretty easy; however, it appears to be incorrectly configured.

Using the command line option to install nets me this error

wineserver: could not save registry branch to system.reg : No space left on deviceUsing Gparted, my 500gig sata drive was split by the default install into a /dev/sda1 457gig partition flagged as boot. There is also an extended partition split into a /dev/sda6 ext3 section and 2 swap drives /dev/sda7 and 5.

I'm assuming that when wine is going to unpack the files, it has no idea where to place them or is attempting to place them in a drive that is too small. I haven't a clue how to check this, if im thinking of the right thing or even what it would be called.

Also, finding the install files that i have saved onto the largest drive, right clicking the Installer.exe and selecting the "Open With Wine Windows Program Loader" option nets me the standard wow installation dialogue, but I am still unable to install as the fake C: drive created by wine has no capacity. I was using the sudo natulis(i cant spell this correctly for some reason).

This may be related, earlier in the installation of ubuntu (9.04) i was promoted to update various programs that came with the fresh install, i received an error message that there was insufficient space to download all of the updates, something like 100megs worth.

July 18th, 2009, 11:03 AM
So, in a terminal, type

df -h