PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Mac powerpc g4 install hangs detecting hardware

williwinki
July 17th, 2009, 05:57 AM
Hi. I'm a Linux novice and have decided to install Ubuntu. I have a little experience with AIX so Unix type OS's aren't totally foreign to me. I had a long career in IT but now retired, so I'm not a novice to operating systems and computing in general.

I bought an old Mac powerpc, G4, Quicksilver, 867MHz, 1GB ram, integrated NIC card, 2 hard drives, Seagate Barracuda and Quantum Fireball, NVIDIA GeForce video card, everything old but functional. The computer cost me all of 10 bucks so thought I'd play around with Linux. I have OS X 10.2.8 running on it and there don't seem to be any hardware issues.

Downloaded both the standard powerpc ISO and the alternate powerpc ISO & burned them both to CDs.

Tried all boot variations of both, ie those listed when using tab and suggestions in the boot text.

Standard ISO hangs at "Loading, please wait" no matter what boot options I use.

Alternate ISO hangs at "Detecting network hardware" no matter what boot options I use.

Tried skipping network hardware detection to see if HDDs would be found but same issue, just hangs there.

No error messages are issued. I haven't been able to find a way to break out of the "Detecting hardware" without rebooting. I assume there is a log (probably in ramdisk) but have no idea how to look at it even if I could break out of the detecting hardware but keep the install running.

Ran Mac diagnostics and all hardware passes with no errors, though diagnostics don't test CD or HDDs.

When using OS X there don't seem to be any issues with the HDDs or the CD.

I'm too hardheaded to give up. I've seen notes from others saying they have Ubuntu running on the powerpc though not sure I've seen anyone who has installed 9.04 from scratch on one.

Anyone have any ideas where to go from here? Any help would be much appreciated.

williwinki
July 17th, 2009, 06:19 AM