PDA

View Full Version : Installing Ubuntu Netbook Remix

hypnonebula
July 14th, 2009, 03:54 AM
Hello all,

Firstly I'd like to apologize if this questions have been answered before in this forum...

I need help installing the ubuntu remix for netbook... I'm an absolute beginner in ubuntu... 0 knowledge...

I recently bought an Asus Eee pc 1000he, with xp prenstalled in it...
the hard drive has already been partitioned to two, with almost equal capacities...

now i've got the usb with ubuntu netbook remix image in it...

do i just proceed the installation on any partition? (I know ubuntu doesn't recognize a partion as c or d... but, i don't know of other ways of asking)

or do I install it in the partition with xp, C ?

or do i install it in the partition without xp, D ?

Please, any help would be much appreciated...

ps: someone said that I'll need at least four partitions, if not I will lose all the data in my ubuntu each time I update my ubuntu... is it true?

pps : I would like to keep my xp

ppps : wouldn't partitioning destroy/delete some of my preexisting data?

nhasian
July 14th, 2009, 04:03 AM
probably the easiest thing for you to do is boot into windows, insert the ubuntu usb key and install ubuntu within windows using wubi. then you dont have to worry about partitions.

earthpigg
July 14th, 2009, 05:43 AM
from amazon,

XP-Preloaded with 160G large H.D.D. Intel Atom 280 Processor (1.66 GHz, FSB: 667MHz)

plenty of space to do a wubi install, if you aren't to computer savvy.

keep in mind that wubi will make it very difficult, later on, to remove windows XP if you choose to.

if you think that may be an option, then traditional dual boot is the route you want to go:

1) boot from the usb drive
2) follow onscreen directions
2a) i suggest 80 gb for windows, and the rest ubuntu... for now.

hypnonebula
July 14th, 2009, 08:53 AM
from amazon,

plenty of space to do a wubi install, if you aren't to computer savvy.