PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How do I put XP back into a partition?

creeper112
July 11th, 2009, 06:27 PM
Hello all,
I'm a complete beginner when it comes to Ubuntu. I've did a complete partition for ubuntu and wiped out my windows XP. I enjoyed having ubuntu 8.10 but I want to do a dual partition with windows XP again. I've tried booting from a live CD and when I tried doing the manual partition XP was nowhere to be found...I still want ubuntu, but I also want to use XP but I can't install it. Can someone please help me. Ive did a search, but there is no easy way to do it. Please if someone knows of a easy step by step way that'll be great. Thanks!

merlinus
July 11th, 2009, 06:42 PM
Maybe I do not understand, but how can you expect the ubuntu partitioner to find something that is not there?

You can shrink your ubuntu partition to make space into which you can install xp. Format it as ntfs beforehand, though, or xp will not see it.

Best to use gparted live cd:

http://gparted.sourceforge.net/

Mark Phelps
July 11th, 2009, 06:51 PM
You have a couple of different options ...

If you want Ubuntu to automatically sense the presence of XP and add an entry to its boot menu, you will have to remove Ubuntu, wipe out the partitions, install XP, and then install Ubuntu.

If you instal XP now, you may have problems if it's not the first partition on the drive, so in that case, you would need to do the following:
1) Go to distrowatch.com and download the GParted LiveCD. Burn that to a CD, and boot from that CD.
2) Once booted, use the partition editor to shrink the Ubuntu partition and move it to the right -- to make room for an XP partition. Don't create an XP partition, just leave space for it.
3) Boot from your XP CD and install XP into the unallocated space. That will overwrite the GRUB entry in the MBR, so you won't be able to boot into Ubuntu anymore.
4) Using your Ubuntu LiveCD, you can boot into it and restore GRUB using the link below: