PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] IDT HD Audio Codec

Sim-I-Am :}
July 8th, 2009, 10:42 PM
Hey, I'm relatively new to UbuntuForums, and Ubuntu for that matter (but lovin it!). I just installed Jaunty on my second machine (Gateway P-6860FX Laptop), and I just have a few questions.
First of all, I have IDT HD Audio speakers on my lappy, and I can't seem to get them to work, or find any Linux drivers for them either. Does anyone else have any experience with this?
Also, what's a good audio converter for Linux?
And lastly, is there any way to enable AA on compiz animations? (dragging and desktop wall, for example)

Thanks,
Sim-I-Am

jenkinbr
July 9th, 2009, 03:11 AM
Sound Problem

You might also want to try this:

Open gnome-sound-proporties (System => Prefs => Sound)
Set everything to autodetect and set Default mixer track to your IDT card and choose the appropriate option below the device setting
Try playing sound - no luck, continue on.

Click the Volume Control Icon on the Notification area (sys tray)
Click Volume Control Button
Check the PCM volume setting - make sure it is unmuted and set to a decent level. Also make sure other appropriate settings are unmuted and at appropriate levels.
Try playing sound again - Still no luck, continue.

With the Volume control still open, click 'Preferences'.
Locate the option called 'External Amplifier (Switches)" and enable it.
Close the preferences and click the 'Switches' tab in gnome-volume-control
Ensure that External Amplifier is UNchecked - for some reason, this happens sometime.
Play some sound - Still no luck? Contine.

Post the output of the commands
aplay -l
lshw -C multimedia

Audio Converter
I have had good luck with ffmpeg using a winff frontend. I use the medibuntu version, which seems to work better.

Compiz

What do you mean by AA?

July 9th, 2009, 06:49 AM
Ok, nothing worked and there was no option for "External Amplifier (Switches)". So, here's my results:

**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****