PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Networking trouble with Virtual box



shredder12
July 7th, 2009, 10:11 PM
Hi fellas,
I have been trying to create a virtual working environment on my computer. I used 2 versions of backtrack ( 1 and 3 ). Using the NAT feature of Virtual Box I was able to provide Internet connectivity to both the virtual machines.

But the IP of both the machines were same even though they were assigned different mac addresses.

And for my purpose I need both the machines to have different IP addresses so that they may be able to recognize each other (as different systems Ofcourse ;) ).

Some help please !!!

terazen
July 7th, 2009, 10:46 PM
Have you tried manually assigning ip addresses?

Try checking on the dhcp server what mac address it sees when you boot up each OS.

shredder12
July 7th, 2009, 10:59 PM
Have you tried manually assigning ip addresses?

Yes, I tried doing that too. Initially they had this ip address 10.0.2.15 so i tried to assign them 10.0.2.16 and after that when i tried to ping it said network unreachable..



Try checking on the dhcp server what mac address it sees when you boot up each OS.

Well, I am not sure about the dhcp server we are talking about but if its the one provided by the virtual box under the name of NAT then yes, they were assigned different mac ids.

I have checked it using ifconfig on both systems. I have even tried restarting the dhcp service on both the machines so that they might get a different ip this time but things don't seem to change.

terazen
July 8th, 2009, 04:30 AM
Read through some documentation so I could try to do this myself to test and it appears it's a bit complicated with virtualbox. Apparently you need to use bridged mode instead of NAT through scripts you have to write.

http://ubuntuforums.org/showpost.php?p=2723644&postcount=15
http://www.virtualbox.org/wiki/Advanced_Networking_Linux

Personally I'd just install vmware with one of their free linux licenses. I haven't used this guide myself, but it may be worth a look.

http://www.xgrr.de/wordpress/2008/02/25/convert-virtualbox-vdi-to-vmware-vmdk
Greg's post(#13) mentions how to do it using linux.

superprash2003
July 8th, 2009, 06:53 AM
did you check the DHCP range of your router? ideally , configuring virutal box to NAT should give all virtual machines a unique ip!!

shredder12
July 8th, 2009, 09:25 AM
did you check the DHCP range of your router? ideally , configuring virutal box to NAT should give all virtual machines a unique ip!!

I am a little confused with this dhcp router. So, could you please tell me how should i check the range..??

terazen
July 8th, 2009, 01:30 PM
The 10.0.2.15 ip address is what you get by default in virtualbox NAT mode. It's not from his router.

superprash2003
July 9th, 2009, 04:48 PM
could you post the output of ifconfig from all your virtual machines.. if they are windows machines then post output of ipconfig .this is to know the ip addresses of all those machines