PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Fujitsu Siemens Amilo Pro

jonnyhuck
July 6th, 2009, 12:44 PM
Hi all,

I'm new to Ubuntu and have installed it on my Fujitsu Siemens Amilo Pro V2000D Laptop.

It works fine except there appears to be no drivers for the DVD player and the wireless won't work, reason being it is activated in Windows via a hotkey on the keyboard which no longer works now Windows is no longer on the machine. (if you test it on the terminal it recognises the wireless but has it as DISABLED)

Has anyone come across this before and knows where to get the driver (and what to do with it once I've got it) or knows how to sort the wireless thing?

Thankyou!

Esa
August 13th, 2009, 04:15 PM
the wireless thing?

Hi,

I Just installed Ubuntu 9.04 to Amilo Pro V2085 and it works fine.
Have you enabled the wireless in BIOS settings?

Cheers, Esa

montevjl
August 20th, 2009, 03:10 PM
Hi,

I Just installed Ubuntu 9.04 to Amilo Pro V2085 and it works fine.
Have you enabled the wireless in BIOS settings?

Cheers, Esa

Hi,
It's not the bios or wireless switch. I never had the problem with 8.10. and even with a 9.10 (dev) version!

But now the issue appears in 9.04. All devices are there (I even use 2 network cards, internal... that nightmare of Intel 2200BG and a usb (Netgear).

It seems from forum that the issue is with drivers. Strange because they are all "nicely" set. If anyone has a clue, please post. Mny tks

mundge
September 2nd, 2009, 10:16 PM
I too have had the same problem. I have though come across this link here (http://odzangba.wordpress.com/2007/05/15/intel-corporation-prowireless-2200bg-amilo-pro-v2000-ubuntu/) which mentions typing in:

sudo modprobe fsam7400 radio=1

which turns on the wireless radio, but doesn't last past the boot.

It then has 2 more lines

sudo echo fsam7400 >> /etc/modules
sudo echo options fsam7400 radio=1 >> /etc/modprob.d/options

which apparently turns the radio on permanently. I can't get it to work, it says