PDA

View Full Version : TabRite (tabwin43) mostly working

trulan
July 5th, 2009, 04:39 AM
This is my first attempt at using wine so bear with me.

Tabrite is an old Windows tablature editor (formerly shareware, now a free download) for instruments with four, five, and six strings. In its day, it was a valuable program and we have amassed a rather large collection of files for it. There are a few bugs running under wine, but there were running in Windows too. So far, I have been able to create and open files, print them, and generate midi files (they cannot be played from inside the program - bug exists in Windows too IIRC)

Edit: revised installation instructions:

1. Extract the .zip file somewhere in c:.
2. Make sure that mfc40.dll exists in c:/windows/system32.
3. Copy Tab.ttf from the .zip into c:/windows/fonts. Make sure you have the standard Windows fonts there also. (I think MS Sans Serif and Arial are the only ones needed)
4. Run setup.exe.
5. Copy the rest of the contents of the .zip into c:/Program Files/tabwin43.
And it should work. If the installer throws errors about registering files, run the regsvr commands in post #3.

End of edit - back to how I actually installed it:

For reference purposes only - don't do it this way:
1. Extract zip file into ~/.wine/drive_c/tabwin43 (note - .wine is a hidden folder)
2. Double-click setup.exe
3. Click 'ignore' at the three warnings it throws (we'll fix them in a minute)
4. Copy Tab.ttf from tabwin43 into ~/.wine/drive_c/windows/fonts
5. Copy other needed fonts there as well (Don't know yet which ones are needed, I just dumped in all my windows fonts and it fixed it.)
6. Copy mfc40.dll (from windows XP) into ~/.wine/drive_c/tabwin43
7. Open a terminal. Run the following commands:

cd ~/.wine/drive_c/tabwin43
wine regsvr32 HSlide32.OCX
wine regsvr32 MIDIIO32.OCX
wine regsvr32 MIDIFL32.OCX
To start the program, run: