PDA

View Full Version : [all variants] mDNS Issue?

TakeLifeEasy
July 2nd, 2009, 12:19 PM
After badgering my company to look at using Ubuntu for their desktop in our mainly Microsoft environment, I have hit a problem which is stopping me showing Ubuntu which I believe is a DNS standards issue.

My company seems to specify the FQDN in everything it does including all the connection strings and links on its website. The added problem is that internally it uses hostname.company.local. From what I have been reading, .local is a reserved top level domain (RFC 2606) which is adding to my problems. So here is the issue -

If I try to ping -
intranet.company.local (where “company” is the name of our company)
It does not resolve. However, if I ping
intranet
I get a succesful response.

If I edit the nsswitch.conf file and comment out the line -
hosts: files mdns4_minimal [NOTFOUND=return] dns mdns4
I can successfully ping intranet and intranet.company.local.

Now I am no expert when it comes to the nsswitch.conf file but from what I have googled, the line I commented out prevents the Linux box performing a multicast DNS search? I am still trying to get my head around mDNS and struggling to see why it prevents me from using a FQDN.

However, even though I comment out this line and can ping intranet.company.local, when I put this into my web browser, it fails to connect to our Intranet site with a message “The browser could not find the host server for the provided address.”. If I just put intranet into the web browser, it works albeit not displaying the page correctly because I guess we are using Microsoft web standards rather than open standards! Everytime the site tries to use company.local in its links, those links fail. When I edit the link and remove company.local, the site works?

Now I am wondering if I have 2 problems -
1). We should not be using .local top level domain name in our company.
2).I have an issue with the way mDNS is working in our environment.