PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] ATI driver woes under Cedega

kshandr
June 30th, 2009, 09:37 PM
Hello all. Bit of a linux noob here - Windows programmer by day, fairly good at configuring stuff at the command line on servers but I've not played around with x/gnome to any great degree before.

I've got an installation of Ubuntu 9.04 here, and I think I'm working reasonably comfortably with it. I'm online, I've got multimedia, I've got all the apps I need and everything seems running correctly.

However, I'm having some trouble with my video configuration while trying to get Cedega to run stuff (my eventual aim is to run World of Warcraft, but I'm starting with something easier.) I have an ATI Radeon x1650 in the PC, and it's running two monitors (working fine!)

I think I've got the wrong video drivers installed somewhere. When I run Cedega's diagnostics I get the following...

Starting test: videocard
videocard: error: unsupported videocard vendor: DRI R300 Project
videocard: Video cards from either NVIDIA or ATI are recommended. Other video cards may not have enough hardware or driver support to run games under Cedega.
videocard: failed
Diagnostics complete

This doesn't stop me from being able to install and run Half-Life under Cedega, though not in OpenGL mode. I'm only able to select Software rendering. I suspect I should be able to run the game in OpenGL mode too, if everything was working correctly.

However - I *can* run glxgears, which I've seen people use to "benchmark" their OpenGL performance, so I'm thinking I have *some* degree of 3D acceleration with the drivers I've got? Here's the output from that:

nick@CALIGULA:~$ glxgears
10100 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2012.034 FPS
13047 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2603.870 FPS
13235 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2646.869 FPS
12933 frames in 5.0 seconds = 2586.596 FPS