PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't install Skype

Mikethebook
June 30th, 2009, 06:42 PM
I tried to download Skype from the Skype website, the Ubuntu version but when I came to run it, I had the error message: Dependency is not satisfiable: libqt4-core (>=4.2.1). Detailed easy to understand explanations please as I am a total novice. Everything is new.

Bucky Ball
June 30th, 2009, 06:49 PM
Install the Medibuntu repository to your software sources and you will find the latest Skype in Synaptic Package Manager afterwards:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Medibuntu#Adding%20the%20Repositories

Open a terminal (Applications->Accessories) and copy and paste the correct code for your version of Ubuntu.

Vaidok
June 30th, 2009, 06:56 PM
If you don't want to add the repo. You can just open up the terminal and type "sudo apt-get install libqt4-core" without the quotes.

Mikethebook
June 30th, 2009, 07:10 PM
Thanks for the information guys but I'm still in the dark. Can you claify further. Repositories!!! I'm a first time user from a Windows background.

Bucky Ball
June 30th, 2009, 07:50 PM
Try what Vaidok mentions first. Open a terminal (Applications->Accessories->Terminal) copy and paste (control/shift/v to paste in a terminal):

sudo apt-get install libqt4-coreTry again. If that doesn't work, open a terminal and from this page:

https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Me...20Repositories (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Medibuntu#Adding%20the%20Repositories)

... copy and paste the appropriate command for your version of Ubuntu, for instance, for Hardy 8.04 you would use this one:

sudo wget http://www.medibuntu.org/sources.list.d/hardy.list --output-document=/etc/apt/sources.list.d/medibuntu.list
then the key:

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get install medibuntu-keyring && sudo apt-get updateDon't forget the key, very important.

Then go to:

System->Administration->Synaptic Package Manager

... and search for Skype. Install and you should be good to go. :)