PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Help with partitioning please?

EvansFive
June 30th, 2009, 11:24 AM
I am very new to ubuntu 9.04 (been a long standing Mac OS X user) and have a couple of questions/issues re partitioning and mounting file systems.

I currently have the following setup:
/dev/sda1 fat32 EFI
/dev/sda2 hfs+ Macintosh HD
/dev/sda3 linux+swap
/dev/sda4 ext3 /boot

/dev/sde1 fat31 EFI
/dev/sde2 ext3 /
/dev/sde3 ext3 /usr
/dev/sde4 ext3 /home

I am currently using simple backup to backup up to /var/backup...so I thought installing a separate external disk, partitioning it, and setting up a file system for the destination for simple backup would be a better solution than backing up to the same physical disk.

So I ran gparted and created two new ext3 partitions on the new external drive...BUT...how can I create a filesystem on the new partition that I can use for backups...no partition mount option is available????

So how do I go about mounting a partition on the new disk and get it incorporated as part of the file system?

OR....

Do I have to move part of / that is on /dev/sde2 to the new partition and if so how do I go about that?

Hope you can help please!

Richardcavell
June 30th, 2009, 02:22 PM
Firstly, I think you should clarify what you are trying to do.

If your objective is to have an easy backup solution, then my suggestion is to format the external drive as one big file system. Then use rsync or some other backup software to copy your existing file system to the backup external drive. The fact that your existing file system is spread across multiple partitions and drives will make no difference to a file-for-file clone.

I think what you're trying to do is to mount the external backup drive as /var/backup. You can do this as follows:

mkdir /var/backup (if you haven't already)
df -h
(Now figure out which one is your hard disk. It might be, say, /dev/hd2)