PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Getting sound to work in Jaunty 64-bit



RichterAzael
June 30th, 2009, 01:33 AM
Ok so I've got Jaunty installed on my laptop and running but sound is not working. How would I go about fixing this?
Edit: Thought I'd add that it worked just fine before in Hardy Heron 64-bit.

fooman
June 30th, 2009, 02:34 AM
have you checked that nothing is muted or just turned down all the way in the alsa mixer?

right click on the speaker/volume icon that is in the top panel and choose "open volume control" from the list.

when the alsa mixer opens, check that PCM and master are turned up all the way and are not muted.

RichterAzael
June 30th, 2009, 03:03 AM
everything is turned up and nothing is muted at all. I'm not exactly sure what to do but here is some info that I got from running some commands (ie lspci, lsmod, etc)

richter@richter-laptop:~$ cat /proc/asound/cards
0 [Intel ]: HDA-Intel - HDA Intel
HDA Intel at 0xf4600000 irq 22
richter@richter-laptop:~$


00:1b.0 Audio device: Intel Corporation 82801H (ICH8 Family) HD Audio Controller (rev 03)
Subsystem: Gateway 2000 Device 0690
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 22
Memory at f4600000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
Capabilities: <access denied>
Kernel driver in use: HDA Intel
Kernel modules: snd-hda-intel


ichter@richter-laptop:~$ lsmod |grep snd
snd_hda_intel 557492 4
snd_pcm_oss 52352 0
snd_mixer_oss 24960 1 snd_pcm_oss
snd_pcm 99336 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss
snd_seq_dummy 11524 0
snd_seq_oss 41984 0
snd_seq_midi 15744 0
snd_rawmidi 33920 1 snd_seq_midi
snd_seq_midi_event 16512 2 snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi
snd_seq 66272 6 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_seq_mid i_event
snd_timer 34064 2 snd_pcm,snd_seq
snd_seq_device 16276 5 snd_seq_dummy,snd_seq_oss,snd_seq_midi,snd_rawmidi ,snd_seq
snd 78792 17 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm_oss,snd_mixer_oss,snd_pcm,sn d_seq_oss,snd_rawmidi,snd_seq,snd_timer,snd_seq_de vice
soundcore 16800 1 snd
snd_page_alloc 18704 2 snd_hda_intel,snd_pcm


0 snd_hda_intel


**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: STAC92xx Analog [STAC92xx Analog]
Subdevices: 0/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 1: STAC92xx Digital [STAC92xx Digital]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0


**** List of CAPTURE Hardware Devices ****
card 0: Intel [HDA Intel], device 0: STAC92xx Analog [STAC92xx Analog]
Subdevices: 2/2
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
Subdevice #1: subdevice #1

RichterAzael
June 30th, 2009, 04:02 AM
got sound working thanks to this post/thread:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1137610&highlight=gateway