PDA

View Full Version : UNR Documentation

jrtapper
June 30th, 2009, 01:25 AM
I am a newbie when it comes to Ubuntu but, I know my way around computers enough to be dangerous.

I have just loaded UNR on a EEE PC 901a as an experiment for work. If I can make this work it might make sense to roll out something like this to our sales reps.

Here is the thing, when I try to figure out how to do something (i.e. connect to another Unix box via SSH or how to delete a launcher from the desktop) I find instructions on how to do this with vanilla Ubuntu. I have downloaded the free Ubuntu booklet and it is great if you are using vanilla, but there is no mention of UNR.

Sorry if this is turning into a rant, but where can one find more info on how to use UNR specifically?

Thanks a million.

rustutzman
June 30th, 2009, 01:41 AM
Sorry I can't help on UNR but while you're looking have a look at eeebuntu too. Choice is good.

Russ

jrtapper
June 30th, 2009, 01:50 AM
Thanks, I will.

What is the difference(s) and where does one get it?

rustutzman
June 30th, 2009, 02:25 AM
you can get eeebuntu http://www.eeebuntu.org. It comes in three flavors of various sizes. I use standard on my 1000he

Russ

mikechant
June 30th, 2009, 02:45 PM
...but where can one find more info on how to use UNR specifically?

UNR is basically just a different appearance for Ubuntu to accomodate smaller screens. Almost anything that works on Ubuntu will work on UNR - applications, terminal commands, config file changes. You just get the application/system menus and the task bar presented differently and some other presentation differences like some windows being resized to fit the screen automatically.

LowSky
June 30th, 2009, 02:53 PM
UNR commands are the same as regular Ubuntu, the only difference is you application menu is on the left in full view

jrtapper
June 30th, 2009, 05:12 PM
Thank you all for your replies!