PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Can't access my files anymore

aj_the_first
June 29th, 2009, 02:22 PM
I'll try to make a long story short...
I am brand new to Ubuntu, and practically brand new to Linux. I love it, and I will never go back, BUT, users certainly have the ability to screw some stuff up without knowing it! None of the operating system protecting itself from users mistakes like windows...

Okay, My wife gave me her computer, which she was running Ubuntu on. She has all sorts of movies and pictures that I want access to on her user profile (sarah), so I created a new profile for myself (aj), and tried to access her files. Couldn't do it. So I logged back onto her profile (sarah) and changed the permissions on the folders so any user could have full access to them. Logged back in on my profile (aj) and found I couldn't still couldn't access them anyway. So I restarted just in case this is windows-style and needed a re-boot after any changes... it wouldn't boot correctly and gave this error on start-up:

User's $HOME/.dmrc file is being ignored. This prevents the default sessin and language from being saved. File should be owne dby user and have 644 permissions. User's $HOME directory must be owned by user and not writable by other users

I searched Ubuntu forums and found this thread:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=371052

and used the CLI commands listed in that thread and typed them from the root prompt in GRUB, in recovery mode.
These are the commands I used:
sudo chmod 644 /home/sarah/.dmrc
sudo chown sarah /home/sarah/.dmrc
sudo chmod -R 700 /home/sarah
sudo chown -R sarah /home/sarah

Well, I boot without the error now, but now neither user, not sarah or AJ, can access the media files in the video and picture folders of the home folder. I can view them, but when I try to open them, the player or viewer just closes immediately, just like they did when the aj user profile doesn't have permissions.