PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Getting stats etc.



nlakes
June 29th, 2009, 06:11 AM
Hi everyone,

I have seen some screen shots of peoples ubuntu desktops and some of them look pretty nice. I was wondering how I can get this thing a lot of them have.
It kind of sits on the side and shows the time, date, has a calendar and gives stats like CPU temp and HD capacity etc.

Its kind of like gadgets.

If anyone can tell me how to get it, it would be much appreciated - thanks.

nmaster
June 29th, 2009, 06:16 AM
i used mac4lin for a while (until i realized that compiz messes with matlab) and those just showed up after i ran the script if i remember correctly.

some of those "gadgets" might be kde things. im not sure.

jerome1232
June 29th, 2009, 06:19 AM
Are you refering to conky?

This thread has some config setups and screenshots of what they look like.
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=281865
This is a guide to conky, has a link to the thread I just linked as well.
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=5436679

another link about conky
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?p=6365702

allenbradley
June 29th, 2009, 06:32 AM
@neal.m.master On a slightly unrelated note, I managed to fix compiz messing with matlab : http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=1147226
It links to an older thread, with the correct solution. Now, I'm able to use compiz while matlab works fine!

prvteprts
June 29th, 2009, 07:49 AM
Try installing Screenlets. There are some widgets/gadgets which show you hardware stats. I also use the sensors-applet (you can install this from the command line) to give you temperature stats, and the system monitor applet (pre-installed) to monitor your load. These applets are added to the panel - just right click on the panel and select "Add to Panel".

papenpj
June 29th, 2009, 07:56 AM
on my server I use "phpsysinfo" It nice because it creates a website you can view anywhere on your network if you have it setup right and know your IP. for me "http://192.168.0.55/phpsysinfo/"

but it doesn't give you the temp, plus you need, apache and php installed also. but since i did a LAMP install it not a problem.

nlakes
June 29th, 2009, 08:02 AM
That's the one, thanks for that!

nmaster
July 2nd, 2009, 06:21 AM
@allenbradley
thanks, but i think i'll just try to live without compiz. i don't really mind things not looking spiffy. thanks tho, i appreciate it.