PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Is 9.04 for noobs?

tsuchang
June 28th, 2009, 10:15 PM
Hi, my name is Tsuchang and I'm a noob. I have been a noob for a long time and struggle with deep seated noobosity. I have some friends who are noobs and some that are proficient at what ever my particular noobiness pertains.

I am having issues with Ubuntu 8.01 and have been encouraged to switch to 9.4. Is that a good idea for a 64 year old computer playerwither?

Acutally....I have some skill but feel totally out of my element when I switched from windoz to linex.

Will installing 9.4 on my machine wipe the drive like windoz or will my programs still be there and be usable?

Captain_tux
June 28th, 2009, 10:21 PM
Will installing 9.4 on my machine wipe the drive like windoz or will my programs still be there and be usable?

If you install 9.4 no, but if you install 8.1, your drive will most certainly be wiped, warped, deleted, perhaps even executed.

Proceed with caution!

:lolflag:

bennachie
June 28th, 2009, 10:22 PM
Could you give us some very general idea of the problems have you had with Ubuntu 8.10? Are you currently dual-booting (that is, do you have Windows and Ubuntu on your computer, and are you able to choose at boot time which you want to run)?

jerome1232
June 28th, 2009, 10:25 PM
Even advanced windows users are lost when they first try out linux :)

you can just upgrade your 8.10 installation to 9.04 via the update manager, It should be fine but I always recommend backing up your personal data before attempting major system changes.

Have one of your proficient friends help you with the upgrade/re-install if you do decide to do it.

-kg-
June 28th, 2009, 10:51 PM
Oh! Please! You're confusing this old computer user! :lolflag: