PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] pppoe verizon dsl & different modem/routers

Larry B
June 26th, 2009, 08:06 PM
A noob here so hide your face when you laugh (you don't want to make me cry) :)

Been doing a bunch of research trying to get a handle on networking and i think i may have learned just enough to be dangerous. I've seen several threads from folks with the same or similar probs as i had and wanted to offer help, but i'm not confident i have a good enough understanding of WHY what worked for me did so. Also there is the matter that what worked for me may not work for others. Tis better to offer no advice than bad advice. So, with this in mind i'd like to see if my "understanding" of things is correct.

Following is what i "THINK" i've learned. Please correct and/or comment at will...... (Also - this applies to hardwired DSL not (necessarily) to wireless hook ups.)

Verizon DSL requires PPPoE.

PPPoE is essentially the means by which one enters a username
and password.

PPPoE can be "programed" or "saved" in the firmware of some dsl modems and/or routers and/or modem-router combos.

Many (perhaps all) Verizon supplied DSL modems (typically if not exclusively, Westell) come pre-configured to NOT work until "activated". Basically this means they are pre-configured to work with the installation CD and not much else until certain internal settings are adjusted.

On Win platforms this is accomplished by the Verizon install CD but can also be done by manual configuration. The key phase being the insertion of the username & password.

On a Ubuntu platform it can be done by manual configuration but must be approached differently depending on whether you have an existing Verizon DSL account which make for a relatively easy manual configuration, or a new Verizon DSL account which makes for a more difficult manual configuration. This is because:
if you already have an existing account you can just use pppoeconf to enter the username and password (among other things)but,