PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] How to change the static IP?



ranjithbiotech
June 24th, 2009, 08:20 AM
Hi i am using Ubuntu, I can see the network comfiguration tool. But i cant change the static IP. Any one help me how to change the static Ip?

_Purple_
June 24th, 2009, 08:22 AM
Right click on the network manager icon on the notification area and then go to Edit Connections.

ranjithbiotech
June 24th, 2009, 08:26 AM
Hi thanks , but one doubt, where i can find the network manager icon? can u help me?

_Purple_
June 24th, 2009, 08:31 AM
Which version of Ubuntu are you using? By default, it is on the right hand side of your top panel. If you are still confused, please post a screenshot.

ranjithbiotech
June 24th, 2009, 08:37 AM
We using ubuntu 7.10 and 8.10,

_Purple_
June 24th, 2009, 08:57 AM
The network manager applet icon is the one inside the black circle.

ranjithbiotech
June 24th, 2009, 09:27 AM
Thanks friend.
If i right click that just two options are available enable connections and connection in formation , in that the connection ionformation is inactive. and if i go for manual configuration i cant get the widow (IP change or entry window). Hw to edit that ,, or any tools have to install fr that?

_Purple_
June 24th, 2009, 09:36 AM
Have you enabled the connection?

ranjithbiotech
June 24th, 2009, 09:40 AM
If i click any option its showing a error could not found the network manager. so i cant edit any in that,.

_Purple_
June 24th, 2009, 09:47 AM
We using ubuntu 7.10 and 8.10,

Can you please specify in which particular version of Ubuntu you are facing this problem? You mentioned two versions.
Try System > Preferences > Network Configuration.

ranjithbiotech
June 24th, 2009, 09:54 AM
We got that problem in ubuntu 8.10

_Purple_
June 24th, 2009, 09:56 AM
What happens when you open System > Preferences > Network Configuration?

theozzlives
June 24th, 2009, 09:59 AM
You may want to get a more current version than 7.10, it reached "end of life" a couple months ago.

ranjithbiotech
June 24th, 2009, 09:59 AM
In that no network configuration option.

_Purple_
June 24th, 2009, 10:16 AM
I am not sure if this has anything to do with the bug mentioned here:
https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+source/ndisgtk/+bug/295892

You can take a look at this workaround and see if this solves your problem
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=974382

ranjithbiotech
June 24th, 2009, 10:18 AM
K friend thank u