View Full Version : World of Warcraft question

June 22nd, 2009, 03:33 PM

I'm sure this has been posted a million times so I apologize if this has been covered. I am rather new to ubuntu and linux in general. Right now I am dual booting between Windows 7 and Ubuntu 9.04. I have WoW installed on both Windows and Ubuntu using Wine. Everything works great under Ubuntu and the install using wine was simple. The performance between windows and linux is drastic however. I was expecting to suffer some FPS drop but I am getting around 50% of what I do in windows. I have a decent system with an E8400 3.0 GHz dual core processor and EVGA 260 vid card and I usually get > 100 FPS in zones and > 50 in cities. Using wine in Ubuntu with the same in-game settings im getting about 50-60 in zones and about 20 in cities. Is that normal? Is there anything that can be done to increase performance at all? I have already added the opengl line in the config file in the WTF folder as well as a couple other lines that were part of the instructions I was following during the install. I know I wont get the same performance under linux then I will under Windows but is there something I can do to make it a bit better? I like ubuntu much better then windows but am addicted to WoW and only can imagine how it will run in raids and bg's. If there is anything I can do please let me know. I am running the 64 bit version of Ubuntu 9.04 and the Nvidia 185 driver off their webiste. As I said everything works great as far as sound, controls, and the graphic rendering but the performance is about 50% of that on my windows install. HELP!

June 22nd, 2009, 07:03 PM
If I'm not mistaking, WoW can be ran in OpenGL.

WoW uses DirectX by default, which runs very poor with wine. OpenGL has a much better performance.