PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] adding windows XP on my laptop

penshockke29
June 22nd, 2009, 10:57 AM
hello guys, im just a totally newbie when it comes to ubuntu, im currently using ubuntu 8.04 and i really wanted to add windows XP on my laptop, BTW, i bought this laptop dell vostro a840 with ubuntu 8.04 in it.

can you please help me in installing another OS in my computer? (windows XP)

tnx a lot..

presence1960
June 22nd, 2009, 11:48 AM
Boot off the Ubuntu Live Cd or gparted Live CD and resize your Ubuntu partition to create space for Windows. Then boot your Windows install disk and install to that free space or partition if you took the extra step and created a NTFS partition from The Live CD. When complete you will have to restore GRUB as windows bootloader will overwrite GRUB. Follow this:

1. Boot your computer up with Ubuntu CD
2. Open a terminal window or switch to a tty.
3. Type sudo grub. Should get text of which last line is grub>
4. Type "find /boot/grub/stage1". You'll get a response like "(hd0,1)".
Use whatever your computer spits out for the following lines.
5. Type "root (hd0,1)", or whatever your hard disk + boot partition
numbers are for Ubuntu.
6. Type "setup (hd0)", to install GRUB to MBR, or "setup (hd0,1)" or
whatever your hard disk + partition # is, to install GRUB to a
partition.
7. Quit grub by typing "quit".
8. Reboot and remove the bootable CD.

At #6 use setup (hd0) to put GRUB on MBR.

P.S. Should have told you when you boot off Ubuntu Live Cd choose "Try Ubuntu without any changes to your computer". When the desktop loads go System > Administration > Partition Editor. Right click on your Ubuntu partition and choose resize. A window will appear. Choose how much you want to give for Windows. When completed click the green check mark labeled Apply in the toolbar at the top.

swerdna
June 22nd, 2009, 12:34 PM