PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] dual boot windows 7 RC and ubuntu, i'm a newbie.

superflychick
June 22nd, 2009, 05:54 AM
Hi,

Apologies in advance if this has been posted multiple times. I'm currently running windows 7, but am wanting to learn some linux... so I want to set my computer up to dual boot. I haven't found a lot of information online, but from what I've read, it seems like I am likely to run into problems. So I guess my first question is whether this will be a tricky install, or does the dual boot work well for most people with a few exceptions?

Also, I am switching from win 7 beta to RC, so I plan on doing a clean install, and creating the partition for ubuntu during the windows install (instead of using the "shrink disk" tool... i already tried, and could not shrink enough despite having 70 gigs free.?..). I have a 90 gig hard drive, and am thinking of partitioning 60 gigs for windows, and 30 gigs for ubuntu? Would this be enough room, too much? I usually keep most of my files (music, pics) on an external. Also, I am a little unclear on how shared disc space for windows and ubuntu works? Do I only need to set aside space for ubuntu program files, and are my documents saved to a shared space with my windows documents?

Also, I haven't done the installs yet, more fact finding, so I have less of a chance of f-in up the install.

Any help would be appreciated. Links are fine too, if don't have room/time to explain.

Thanks, KT

konqueror7
June 22nd, 2009, 06:02 AM
i've had the experience of having a dual-boot windows7 and ubuntu, but mine was the other way around, ubuntu first, last windows7. i've had to restore my GRUB after that.

in your case, its a good thing that you will install windows(7) first. the dual-boot procedure is pretty much straightforward and is very similar to dual-booting vista & ubuntu.