PDA

View Full Version : Sims 3 won't install?

YakoiB
June 21st, 2009, 06:40 PM
Hi everyone. I am fairly new to Ubuntu and am having a bit of trouble with the installation of my newest game! My friend made me an ISO of his game so that I can see if I can get it working on Ubuntu before I go and spend the 60 bucks for the game.

ISO is fine, but wine doesn't see the mounted image? Will only let me open through WinAce, which is a worthless program imo.

Any help would be great!

Oh and I read that running the install through Playonlinux would work, but I am a scripting tard and have no clue what the sudo blah blah blah means. That is what I have my husband for, but I am determined to at least TRY to install this on my own.

Again any help would be great!

Thanks!

YakoiB
June 21st, 2009, 06:43 PM
5.6 gigs. Highest DVD I have is 4.7 >.< Thought of that already.

YakoiB
June 21st, 2009, 06:56 PM
Okay. I am dling Gmount now, I was using Archive Manager....hopefully this will do better =D

*Crosses fingers*

YakoiB
June 21st, 2009, 06:57 PM
*Sigh* Got this :

An error occured
wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on /dev/loop0, missing codepage or helper program, or other error
In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
dmesg | tail or so

YakoiB
June 21st, 2009, 07:01 PM
LOL Give me a little credit. I am far from a ISO tard, just suck at scripting. :P

Where do I need to mount the image to? I tried a new folder on my desktop and a folder in Wine I named TS3?

Neither of those worked with Gmount so what would you suggest?

YakoiB
June 21st, 2009, 07:15 PM
Yeah I found it....got the error I posted right before your last post....

I think I have been defeated and should wait for my husband to get outta bed....lol

YakoiB
June 21st, 2009, 07:21 PM
lol No worries. My husband has become an all knowing Ubuntu God in the passed 6 months...I will leave it to him. Thanks for your help!!! *hugs*

flixgallardo
June 21st, 2009, 07:22 PM