PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Hello & request help with menu/toolbars

location8
June 17th, 2009, 11:10 PM
Hello Ubuntu users

Absolute beginner here and learning the hard way which to me is the best way to learn.

Obviously here to ask about a problem that I have and have already googled my problem and searched here in the forum. Lots of conflicting finds so I figured I'd better join here and ask before I start making things more difficult for myself. ;o) I will attempt to describe

Problem: Lost all menubars/toolbars – top and bottom
I cannot access any panels/icons etc.

Once booted up, I only have the wallpaper on show, Unbuntu logo top left of screen, battery level – wireless connection – date – time on the right. I have right clicked anything between these two and nothing. I have right clicked the logo and there is nothing there to access the addition of another toolbar. Have done the same for the icons on the right too (batt-w/c-date & time). Have also right clicked other areas but no joy.

Every now and then, I get the update manager. I attempted to update but the request was bounced back stating not enough disk space (very puzzling indeed as theres 70gig free)

I can access the wireless but I always have to input my password to connect. Cannot get on internet because theres no browser to connect to.

History
I purchased an NC10 via ebay some 5wks ago with partitioning for Ubuntu 9.04 and Windows XP. Ubuntu has been working fine until tonight.

First, I lost my tabs, then could not place new ones on. Then Admittedly removed the bottom toolbar. Still had no joy, so I rebooted. No difference. Currently running firefox as a browser.

Phew! Sorry about long type up but figured all information is important.

Hope you guys can help and please go easy on me

I'll start reading the free beginners guide in my lunchbreak tomorrow

:)

regards
manf

CatKiller
June 18th, 2009, 01:18 AM