PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] xrandr won't resize resolution from 1024x768



bastones
June 17th, 2009, 11:14 AM
Hi,

I want to resize the screen resolution to 1280x800 - at the moment its on 1024x768 which is too small for me to use Linux Mint on a full time basis. I typed xrandr to see types of resolutions that are available for me - and here's response:


Screen 0: minimum 320 x 200, current 1024 x 768, maximum 1360 x 1360
VGA connected 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 331mm x 207mm
1280x800 60.0 +
1024x768 60.0*
1024x640 60.0
800x600 60.3 56.2
640x480 59.9
TMDS-1 connected 1024x768+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 0mm x 0mm
1360x768 59.8
1152x864 60.0
1024x768 60.0*
800x600 60.3
640x480 59.9
TV disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
1280x800_60.00 (0xc2) 83.5MHz
h: width 1280 start 1352 end 1480 total 1680 skew 0 clock 49.7KHz
v: height 800 start 803 end 809 total 831 clock 59.8Hz
1280x768_60.00 (0xc3) 79.5MHz
h: width 1280 start 1344 end 1472 total 1664 skew 0 clock 47.8KHz
v: height 768 start 771 end 781 total 798 clock 59.9Hz


so, I did: xrandr --output LVDS --mode 1280x800

and, it flickered once seemed like it was adjusting the resolution, but it still seems like 1024x768 resolution. So I entered xrandr to confirm, and regardless how many times I try changing resolution using above command, it still shows: "current 1024 x 768"

am I doing something wrong?

Before this I tried cvt 1280 800 then xrandr --addmode, flickered once as usual to no change.

Any help appreciated.

Temüjin
June 17th, 2009, 11:35 AM
Maybe some helpful error messages will be found in /var/log/Xorg.0.log or ~/.xsession-errors

bastones
June 17th, 2009, 12:02 PM
Maybe some helpful error messages will be found in /var/log/Xorg.0.log or ~/.xsession-errors

the latest at bottom of Xorg.0.log is:


(II) intel(0): I2C bus "CRTDDC_A" initialized.
(II) intel(0): I2C device "CRTDDC_A:E-EDID segment register" registered at address 0x60.
(II) intel(0): I2C device "CRTDDC_A:ddc2" registered at address 0xA0.
(II) intel(0): I2C device "CRTDDC_A:ddc2" removed.
(II) intel(0): I2C device "CRTDDC_A:E-EDID segment register" removed.
(II) intel(0): I2C bus "CRTDDC_A" removed.
(II) intel(0): EDID vendor "@@@", prod id 0
(II) intel(0): Using hsync ranges from config file
(II) intel(0): Using vrefresh ranges from config file
(II) intel(0): Printing DDC gathered Modelines:
(II) intel(0): Modeline "1280x800"x0.0 68.90 1280 1301 1333 1408 800 804 808 816 -hsync -vsync (48.9 kHz)
(II) intel(0): Modeline "800x600"x0.0 40.00 800 840 968 1056 600 601 605 628 +hsync +vsync (37.9 kHz)
(II) intel(0): Modeline "800x600"x0.0 36.00 800 824 896 1024 600 601 603 625 +hsync +vsync (35.2 kHz)
(II) intel(0): Modeline "640x480"x0.0 25.18 640 656 752 800 480 490 492 525 -hsync -vsync (31.5 kHz)
(II) intel(0): Modeline "1024x768"x0.0 65.00 1024 1048 1184 1344 768 771 777 806 -hsync -vsync (48.4 kHz)
(II) intel(0): Modeline "1024x640"x60.0 52.83 1024 1072 1176 1328 640 641 644 663 -hsync +vsync (39.8 kHz)
(II) intel(0): EDID vendor "@@@", prod id 0

planetLars
June 17th, 2009, 02:04 PM
your displays are called VGA, TMDS-1 and TV, not LVDS as it is for me. Does xrandr --output VGA --mode 1280x800 help? If not, perhaps the added mode is incorrect. Did --addmode give an error? If not everything should work probably, else you have to create a --newmode before (type xrandr -h to get the syntax, cvt then provides the data for hsync etc.).

Lars

bastones
June 17th, 2009, 02:57 PM
your displays are called VGA, TMDS-1 and TV, not LVDS as it is for me. Does xrandr --output VGA --mode 1280x800 help? If not, perhaps the added mode is incorrect. Did --addmode give an error? If not everything should work probably, else you have to create a --newmode before (type xrandr -h to get the syntax, cvt then provides the data for hsync etc.).

Lars

ah, it worked, thanks! I did wonder about this before but didn't realise xrandr --output LVDS is a monitor name.

Thanks :).