PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] First-run assistant for Evolution Mail doesn't appear

hector24
June 16th, 2009, 10:59 PM
I am totally new to all this - only had Ubuntu installed last weekend. I need to know a few things. I can't get my mail in Evolution Mail as the First-run assistant doesn't appear. Is there another way of getting connected?

Many thanks for any help that may be out there.

abhiroopb
June 16th, 2009, 11:55 PM
Have you used it before?

If not go to your /home/<user> folder and click Ctrl+H, then look for .evolution folder and delete it.

This will WIPE all your evolution settings and reset it. If you have not used it before, this won't delete anything important. But if you have been using it it will delete all your evolution data, so be careful.

But deleting this and restarting evolution should show the first-run assistant.

hector24
June 18th, 2009, 04:49 PM
Many thanks for your help. I can find 'Home' in 'Places' but nothing which says <user>. Am I looking in the wrong place?

abhiroopb
June 18th, 2009, 04:53 PM
Usually when people in the forum right <user> it just means your name...for example mine is...

/home/abhiroop

Anyway go to Places>Home and then do the rest like I suggested.

hector24
June 18th, 2009, 04:55 PM
I've just found it. I tried using Evolution to send an email. Does that mean I shouldn't delete it? Under the .evolution folder there is: addressbook, cach, calendar, mail, memos and tasks. Do I delete all these?

hector24
June 18th, 2009, 05:24 PM
Thanks, you're very patient.

I've done as you said and deleted the .evolution file. I went back into Evolution but there was no first-run assistant. Can you think of anything else?

abhiroopb
June 18th, 2009, 08:06 PM
Just a bit of clarification - the first run assistant is what you get when you start up evolution right? There's a wizard asking for information?